My Thoughts About Online Video – YouTube and LiveVideo

Late in 2006 I kept hearing about an online video site called YouTube. I knew the name, I did not know what it was all about. So, I took the plunge and went to the website. Wow, there was so much stuff to look at and so little time! I was intrigued and hooked at the same time. I wanted to see it all. I created an account and started to watch many different videos.

Shortly after my introduction to YouTube someone on the site mentioned another site called LiveVideo so I checked out their site. Initially this site was more refreshing than YouTube but after being on this site for a month, it is starting to have the same type of content I was running into on YouTube.

I was naive and I am still naive to this whole world. I learned there were “fake” people on these sites. Of course there was a great debate about these people being actors and the counter point of it’s ok for them to be actors but they should tell us and not try and fool us. Hmmm, I guess they were good actors if they were fooling people. So, I found myself watching soap operas online in two to three minute segments. I also learned that the online video world is apparently a new avenue for people to be discovered, kind of an online audition…and I was ok with that. I think some of them are credible, at least to my lackless eye for talent. There are two actresses I enjoy following on LiveVideo. They are Allycat and iowagirl. Both are very real and seem to be very passionate about what they are doing.

The Virtual Magician is entertaining with the video cam magic he does on his cell phone. I have actually gained a new liking for William Shatner on his channel ShatnerVision. I find him entertaining and engaging. There are a few channels that share their knowledge or passions.

I found a bunch of videos about people, mostly teenage girls, that put on some music and see how fast they can shake their “groove thing”. Ok, that really isn’t something I find interesting. There are a ton of videos that have been imported from other sites. I guess I was expecting more original content.

I found video bloggers. So I listened to some of them. Sometimes I think there is a race to see who can put up the most blogs without considering if they are interesting to anyone or not. Several people I watched would pose a question, interesting questions. When people would respond with a differing opinion the video blogger would demonstrate a no tolerance policy for an opposing view. I could not help but ask myself, then why did you pose the question — just so everyone would agree with you? One of these bloggers started out interesting but I guess she learned that if she wore low cut tops and talked about being naked she would get more views. She was right. I stopped watching.

The online video world intrigues me and I am fascinated with all of the different videos on both of these sites. I am also learning there are many other sites like this on the Internet. What a sheltered life I have been living.

So what’s my point? I’m not sure what I am expecting from online video sites. I am not complaining about either of the two online video sites that I have been introduced to, they are what they are. I try to filter through and find the channels that I enjoy which is not usually an easy task.

I don’t feel as though I have anything to say that will revolutionize the world so I post my outdoor life pictures, on my channel, for others to enjoy. There are others who post videos expanding on some knowledge, talent or passion they have. I would like to see more of these types of channels. One woman is sharing her battle against breast cancer. What a way to bring awareness and knowledge to people on a worldwide basis.

Perhaps I am the one that is at the wrong place. I guess I am past the point of watching nonsense and would like to spend my time learning about the aforementioned things. I would be interested in your opinions of the online video world.

Here are my questions —

  • What do you enjoy about online video sites?
  • What do you dislike about online video sites?
  • How do you think online video sites could be used more effectively?

— steve

Explore posts in the same categories: Actors, Actresses, Blogging, Online video, Photos, Text Blogging, Video, Video Blogging, YouTube

2 Comments on “My Thoughts About Online Video – YouTube and LiveVideo”

  1. MsTrotALot Says:

    Hi Steve!

    I’m going to take the plunge and be the first to comment on your blog. Since I don’t have a webcam or video cam, I’m pretty much stuck with communicating in writing for the moment. Boy, do I feel like a dinosaur.

    I am much in the same boat as you are. Although I have used a computer for years and ventured onto the internet for several years, I am totally new to watching people vlog. I have been a member of YouTube for some time, but it was only recently that I discovered that people vlog about their lives and other interesting things. It can be very addicting. I’m a very social person in real life so it’s probably a good thing I don’t have a camera … I might not ever get anything done again.

    What do I enjoy about video sites? I enjoy watching people talk about their lives. My absolute favorite is Geriatric1927. I am so fascinated and thrilled that he has embraced this technology. I wish my mother was still alive. She would have been a fantastic vlogger. When I was young and growing up in a small town, we had a local radio station where she worked as the “Girl Friday.” In addition to her secretarial and bookkeeping duties, she had her own 15 minute talk show 5 days a week where she shared recipes, talked about farming, and interviewed people. She also produced radio ads for local businesses. She was a peach. I miss her and my father, who have both passed on now. When I watch Geriatric, who is about their same age, I think of them and their lives and how wonderful it would have been to have video diaries so their stories are not forgotten. Perhaps if I ever do own a video camera, I will be able to record and share some of their stories.

    There is another older gentleman on YouTube whose stories are told on the channel “Gingeronymous.” He passed away Feb. 15 and his daughter posted a video to let people know. It is interesting to me that I was so saddened by this news as I have never met these people or corresponded with them, but I felt as though I was getting to know them through their videos. Rest in peace, Les, and thank you for sharing your stories.

    There are other things I enjoy about video websites. Take your channel, for instance. I love watching the pictures from your trail cameras. I have never seen anything like that before. I live in the country and see my share of wildlife, but nothing as close as the pictures you share. The other day, I discovered a video on YouTube of a baby seahorse. Later in the same video, there was a male seahorse having babies. What I am trying to say is … where else would you be able to search for anything in the world and basically be able to find it somewhere on the internet like that? I used to watch the Discovery and Learning Channels on t.v. all the time, but now I have discovered that with some searching, you can find almost anything you are curious about with a few clicks of your mouse. Fascinating!

    I could go on and on about why I enjoy video websites, but I think you get the idea. (I’m windy!)

    What I dislike about video websites is probably the same kinds of things you are referring to in your blog. I will never understand why some people seem to enjoy spreading their meanness. If I don’t like or enjoy something, I quietly move on and make a mental note to avoid it. I don’t see the point in negativity or drama. I have subscribed to a channel because I thought the vlogger made some interesting tech videos, but how he is involved in all sorts of drama that I would like to avoid. I feel like if I “unsubscribe” without an explanation, that action could be misconstrued. I haven’t decided what to do yet, but I do know that I don’t want to be involved in the drama in any way.

    Also, I did a search on LiveVideo today looking for horse people and their videos. I saw a few things that made me cringe … people who don’t know how to handle horses basically upsetting the horse and putting themselves in danger because they haven’t taken the time to understand horses. I was tempted to comment, but realized that would do absolutely no good, so I quietly moved on.

    I don’t have any specific ideas on how video sites could be used more effectively. Like you, I try to search out things that interest me and that I enjoy watching. I have wanted a video camera for a long time and I think we will be purchasing one in the near future. I don’t know if I’ll have the courage to put myself in videos, but I am anxious to see if I can make decent videos of my horse. I do think that LiveVideo is a better site than YouTube and I hope that it doesn’t get bogged down as it grows. Plus, it has William Shatner, my first ever t.v. crush (who also happens to be a horseman) – what a bonus!

    Sorry this is so long (told you I was windy). Since I blogged on your blog, does this mean I’m officially a blogger now? *giggling*


  2. Nice thoughts….I love to put there one of mine.
    online video guide


Leave a Reply

